If you no longer want your site to be available online, you can unpublish it. You can still access and update your site content. You can also republish the site using the same URL or a different URL at any time. If people try to visit your unpublished site, they’ll see an error message.
Unpublish your site:
- Next to PUBLISH, click the Down arrow > Unpublish.